WEbinar lineup

Our webinars offer you proven rules, tools and practices that lead to tourism, marketing and downtown success. Every webinar is free for DDA members.

 

All webinars, unless otherwise noted, will begin at 8:30am PDT. Below are times by time zone. 

8:30am - 9:30am PDT; 9:30am - 10:30am MDT; 10:30am - 11:30am CDT;

11:30am - 12:30pm EDT; 12:30pm - 1:30pm ADT

TUESDAY APRIL 20, 2021

There are two primary elements to a successful downtown: The business mix and the ambiance. In this photographic smorgasbord, we’ll show you what some great downtowns are doing, at low cost, to make their downtowns beautiful places to spend time, and how they did it without spending an arm and a leg. And you’ll see what you can do every season of the year - no matter where you’re located - to make your downtown beautiful 365 days a year. Consider this workshop your “idea book” - with ideas you can implement immediately.

WEDNESDAY MAY 19, 2021

This is great news for suburban and rural communities everywhere! 

In this fascinating workshop you’ll visit a few Zoom Towns - Less populated cities and towns that are attracting Digital Nomads and the “Work From Anywhere Culture” that is sweeping North America. You’ll see the seven ingredients needed to become the next great Zoom Town, and how to package and market your community, attracting new start-ups, investment, and families looking to escape the urban areas for a better quality of life and a sense of belonging.

WEDNESDAY JUNE 16, 2021

“I know that half my advertising dollars are wasted, but the problem is I don’t know which half.” You’ve probably heard this clever, and largely true, remark before, and in this workshop you’ll see how to allocate your marketing dollars and the best ways to leverage the advertising portion of your budget—big or small. We’ll cover outdoor advertising (billboards), broadcast media (radio and television), print (magazines and periodicals), and online advertising. You’ll learn how to prioritize your advertising to give you the best bang for your dollar and without wasting a dime!

WEDNESDAY JULY 14, 2021

Having spent a lot of time on the road (250 days a year – until 2020) Roger has visited thousands of communities in all 50 states. Here you’ll see his top-ten all-time favorite places across America, and he’ll show you WHY and HOW they actually made the list, providing ideas you can emulate so that your destination can be the golden child of travel publications, media influencers, Instagrammers, and travelers far and wide. Fun, educational, and inspiring places you can add to your bucket list, you won’t want to miss this presentation!

WEDNESDAY AUGUST 18, 2021

After spending a great deal time working in every Canadian province (disappointed to have missed the territories), Roger will share with you his ten all-time favorite places across Canada. He’ll share with you why and how each of them made his list, providing you with ideas you can emulate to help you get on every traveler’s bucket list. So take a trip across Canada with Roger and see ten of the places that make Canada a visitor’s dream destination.

WEDNESDAY SEPTEMBER 15, 2021

Well known for the seven-year research project that resulted in “The 20 Ingredients of an Outstanding Downtown,” Roger is going to show you the five most important elements that all 400 of the best downtowns in North America have and are critical to their success. You’ll see photographic examples and great case histories and will get approximate implementation costs so you can begin developing these ingredients in YOUR downtown. This is one presentation you don’t want to miss, and it can help you create a priority-list for your downtown and its success.